Winner of the 14th Annual Delsys Prize

The De Luca Foundation is pleased to announce that the 14th Annual Delsys Prize for Innovation in Electromyography was awarded to Dr. Max Ortiz Catalán of Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden.

Dr. Catalán winning proposal, titled “Myoelectric pattern recognition and augmented reality for the treatment of Phantom Limb Pain”, was selected from a field of 134 entries from 29 countries. The entries represented a remarkably broad range of interests in diverse areas as Biomechanics, Exercise Physiology, Signal Processing, Facial EMG, Robotics, Rehabilitation, and various other areas.

It is heartening to witness the growth and continuing maturation of the field of Electromyography. We are honored to play a small part in this success story by illuminating outstanding contributions to the field.

We would like to thank the Delsys Prize Review Board Members: Dr. Andrea d’Avella (Italy), Dr. Kevin Englehart (Canada), Dr. Jim Richards (UK), and Dr. William Zev Rymer (USA), for taking part in choosing the winner.

Many thanks to all of the contributors who participated this year and we invite all to consider participating in the 15th Annual Delsys Prize in 2017.